University of Lyon

Welcome to the Université de Lyon!

Université de Lyon is the most important French University site outside the Paris region. Université de Lyon brings together in a unifying structure 11 higher education institutions and CNRS.                

Created in 21 March 2007, the Université de Lyon in the form of a "public scientific cooperation organization" (EPCS). This "Research and Higher Education Cluster" (PRES) then underwent a further evolution with the Act of 22 July 2014 relative to Higher Education and Research, by becoming a "Community of Universities and Higher-Education Establishments" (COMUE).


News and events

  • PhD Student Guide... Read me! 

    "Congratulations, you are beginning your doctoral studies at the Université de Lyon! By choosing the Lyon-Saint-Étienne site, you have opted to pursue a fascinating and demanding avenue dedicated to knowledge and learning and benefitting from a particularly rich research environment of the highest quality."

  • Signature of a framework agreement between the Université de Lyon and the Université de Sherbrooke 

    On 6 October 2014, the President of Université de Lyon, Khaled Bouabdallah and the Chancellor of the Université de Sherbrooke, Luce Samoisette, signed a framework agreement . This agreement is the second signed in Canada and the first in the Province of Québec by the Université de Lyon as part of its International Alliance policy. 


logo ministère de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche logo rhone alpeslogo grand lyon
Logo démarche Only Lyon